April 21 – Pay What You Can

I went and saw the Highest Tide by James Lynch at Book-It Repertory Theater the other night.  I’ve been trying to hit the pay-what-you-can nights and the different theater’s in town.  I feel like I need to see more theater since I am trying to be an actor and all.

I feel a little insecure because I am not theater educated, the way a lot of people in my classes are.  They have either done theater since high-school, or went to college and got their BA in theater, or they’ve been doing community theater for years.

Me, I sort of just decided last year that I might like to try an acting class as a tool to get over being uncomfortable in front of people.  I didn’t realize that I would like it so much.  I wasn’t even sure I was going to be able to get through the first class.

People in class will start talking about plays and playwrights and others will nod knowingly.  I sit there and listen quietly, thinking to myself, I have no idea what they are talking about.   I should read/see more plays (and movies for that matter).

So I’ve looked up the pay-what-you-can nights at many of the theaters in town.  IntimanSeattle Rep, ACT, Book-It all have PWYC nights.  Most only let you buy tickets the day of the show at the box office, some are cash only.

Here is my partial list (I’m sure there are more that I haven’t found yet)

May 8 – Father & Sons – ACT
June 5 – Namaste Man – Intiman
June 15 – A marvelous Party (Noel Coward Celebration) – ACT 7pm
June 26 – A marvelous Party (Noel Coward Celebration) – ACT 2pm
July 10 – Streetcar Named Desire – Intiman
Aug 17 – Intimate Exchanges – ACT 7pm
Aug 21 – Little Dog Laughed – Intiman
Aug 28 – Intimate Exchanges – ACT 2pm
Sep 7 – Eurydice – ACT 7pm
Sep 18 – Eurydice – ACT 2pm
Oct 2 – All the King’s Men – Intiman
Oct 19 – Becky’s New Car – ACT 7pm
Oct 30 – Becky’s New Car – ACT 2pm
Dec 4 – Black Nativity – Intiman

Anyway, you can see some good theater on the cheap. Most places have a minimum of 5$.  I always pay try to pay more than that (10 – 20$ depending on that week’s cash flow), because I can, it’s the 40$ I have trouble with, especially if I am trying to go to a show a week.

I take my mom with me, who is on disability and a fixed income, and she always pays the 5$. The PWYC nights definitely draw the senior crowd.  I am always surprised I don’t see more young people.  I figure this would be perfect for high school and college students, but mostly it is the gray haired group I see.

So go see some theater, there is no excuse not to at these prices.

Leave a Reply

