Mar 11 – Breathe.

Acting school is winding down.  My last Voice class is tomorrow, and my last Stage Combat class is Saturday.  Then I have a break until mid-April.  What am I going to do with myself?

I think Voice has been good for me.  If not only for pointing out to me how much work I need in this area.  It is hard to breathe and talk at the same time.  OK, it actually isn’t, unless you have to say your words that you didn’t come up with in front of people who are staring at you. Oh, and do it in a way that doesn’t fry your vocal chords.

I am going to take Voice Over next quarter, and I this will help me continue my voice training.  I am interested in doing that kind of work because it pays, and you don’t have to be a sexy supermodel.  Plus, it sounds fun.

I have to keep working on my monologue.  It is getting better each time, but still needs work.  The breathing definitely helps.  Last time in class we said our monologues while trying at least two of the following breath patterns.  Slow and Small(shallow), Fast and Small, Slow and Big(Deep), Fast and Big.

It was amazing how just trying to breathe in one of those patterns and then speaking through it changed the emotional content of what you were saying.  It was very interesting to watch.  Everyones’ monologues improved a lot just from trying that.

It is pretty hard to do, but I can see where more practice would make it easier.  It adds a lot of dynamic.  I will also be doing another play this next quarter so I am looking forward to putting this to use there.  The more practice the better.

Leave a Reply

