March 4 – Just another brick in the wall.

brick.jpg

I’ve already gone on about all the reasons I haven’t posted lately on my other blog, so I won’t go on about it here too.

Things are chugging along methodically in the acting world. The two classes I am currently taking are more about the craft and less about “art”. Not that there is not art in the doing, but they are technique classes first and foremost.

Stage Combat is about how to safely wave pointed metal sticks around without injuring yourself, your stage mate(s), and the inanimate objects in the immediate area, all while looking like your sole purpose is to do the opposite. The art comes is in telling the story of the fight: Why is it happening? What is at stake?. Who is the winner? Who is the loser? The craft is how do you do that without getting your eye poked out by a pointy metal stick.

In Voice class the art would be how you use your voice to again tell the story, blah blah blah. The craft is how to do that with out frying your vocal chords while you try and reach the people in the cheap seats, and then do that 7 times a week for 6 to 8 weeks.

So I have been trying to do that. It is a bit like stacking bricks. Someone hands you a brick, you put it in your stack. The teacher says, here is way to relax your abdominal muscles, so that your breath can more easily support the voice. OK, I’ll take that, and stack in with my pile of how to relax the jaw, how to balance your weight to reduce tension, etc, etc. Another brick on the pile.

Right now my stack of bricks isn’t particularly organized. There are varying shapes and colors, and sizes of bricks. And I certainly haven’t built anything out of it yet. It looks rather like my desk, or the floor of my closet. Oh, thanks, hmmm… I don’t know quite what to do with that yet, so I’ll put it here for now.

The quarter will be over mid-March. The next quarter starts up at the end of April. I have already picked out my classes. Time to dust off the ol’ credit card.

I am going to take Rehearsal and Performance. I’ve actually taken this class before a year ago. In the class you do a whole play, and perform it in front of actual people. I think it will be a whole new experience now that I am a year “older” in my acting training. I’ve gone through the fiery pit of Clown, through the blender of Movement, I’ve had some Shakespeare, I’ll have had some voice training and combat training. It’s sort of a new me. And of course it will be a new play, so I am looking forward to it. Plus I get to show off in front of a crowd. Terrifying, yet exhilarating.

The next class will be Voice Over. It’s the same teacher that I have for Voice this quarter. This is geared for doing more commercial work, for commercials, industrial training videos, film, tv, radio and the like. This is one of those things I think is valuable for actually making money. Theater is nice, but how often does it pay good. I’m not above doing annoying car insurance commercials for the radio, or whatever to make some money. Really. I put numbers into spreadsheets and sort mail. It’s a step up in my book.

The third class will be Stage Combat part III. More of the same type of thing to finish off the series. More bricks for my pile. I am looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

